Cross of Merit 1941, type Rijks Munt
(Kruis van Verdienste, versie Rijksmunt)


Instituted / (code) 1941 / (KV)
Amount issued


Value category Average

In 1940, shortly after the beginning of the war, the Dutch Government needed additional awards for bravery. At that moment only the Military Order of William and the "honorably mention" could be used. During the war several awards were instituded. The first was the Bronze Cross in 1940, followed bij the Cross of Merit and the Flying Cross in 1941 and the Bronze Lion in 1944. The Cross of Merit was awarded to those who "in connection with enemy action have distinguished themselves by courageous and meritious conduct, and thereby have served the interests of the Kingdom". On the ribbon bars could be worn for especially meritious deeds. Cross with bar was replaced in 1944 by the Bronze Lion. On the ribbon arabical numbers can be worn to indicate multiple awards.

The observe shows a crowned W of queen Wilhelmina. The reverse shows the Dutch Lion and the text "voor verdienste" (For Merit).

There are three official versions, :