Flying Cross 1941, Spink
(Vliegerkruis, Spink)
Instituted / (code) 1941 / (VK)
Amount issued


Value category Above Average

In 1940, shortly after the beginning of the war, the Dutch Government needed additional awards for bravery. At that moment only the Military Order of William and the "honorably mention" could be used. During the war several awards were instituded. The first was the Bronze Cross in 1940, followed bij the Cross of Merit and the Flying Cross in 1941 and the Bronze Lion in 1944. The Flying Cross was awarded to military personnell (Dutch and foreign) for bravery during flying missions.

Three official versions were struck.

The last Flying Cross was awarded january 2002 to F16 pilot Major M. Duivesteijn for brave actions over former Yougoslavia during operation Allied Force in 1999.