Bronze Lion 1944, type Rijks Munt new
(Bronzen Leeuw, versie Rijks Munt nieuw)


Instituted / (code) 1944 / (BL)
Amount issued


Value category Average

In 1940, shortly after the beginning of the war, the Dutch Government needed additional awards for bravery. At that moment only the Military Order of Williamand the "honorably mention" could be used. During the war several awards were instituded. The first was the Bronze Cross in 1940, followed bij the Cross of Merit and the Flying Cross in 1941 and the Bronze Lion in 1944.

Five official types of this medal exist:

Medal on the left is Rijksmunt (new version issued 1999)

Several unofficial issues go around:

  • "Garrard"
  • "Wielik"
  • "Begeer"