Order of the Netherlands Lion 1815, Knight
(Orde van de Nederlandse Leeuw, Ridder)


Instituted / (code) 1815 / (NL4)
Amount issued > 15000
Value category Above Average

The Order of the Netherlands Lion (Orde van de Nederlandse Leeuw) is an order of the Netherlands which was first created on 29 September 1815 by the first King of the Netherlands, King William I.

The Order of the Netherlands Lion was until recently awarded upon eminent individuals from all walks of life, including generals, ministers of the crown, mayors of large towns, professors and leading scientists, industrialists, high ranking civil servants, presiding judges and renowned artists. It could therefore be considered the Dutch equivalent of the Order of the Bath. Since 1980 the Order has been primarily used to recognise merit in the arts, sport and literature; others have been awarded the Order of Orange Nassau instead.

The Order of the Netherlands Lion ranks after the coveted Order of William. Every year on the Queen's official birthday, April 30, several appointments in the Order are made public. The second and third class of the Order are not awarded to foreigners; they are eligible for the Order of Orange Nassau or the Order of the Crown instead.

The medal as shown is a recent type from the period from 1945 (diameter 38mm, silver gilt, crown attached by a v-shape). Determination is in progress.