Order of the Oakcrown 1841, honorary medals
(Eremedailles in de Orde van de Eikenkroon)
Instituted / (code) 1841 / (EKL1,2,3)
Amount issued ?
Value category Common

The Order of the Oakcrown was instituted in 1841. Because the King of the Netherlands was also Grand Duke of Luxemburg, the order was frequently used by the King of the Nerherlands. Iin 1891, after death of King William III, Luxemburg became an independant state. The Order of the Oakcrown was no longer used. At the same time the Order of Orange Nassau an the House Order of the House of Nassau were instituted.

Orders can be awarded to civilians, diplomats and miltary. Degrees are: Grand Cross, Grand Officer, Commander, Officer, Knight and Honorably medals (gold, silver and bronze).